Sunday, April 20, 2008

JabbaWockeeZ, MTV’s America’s Best Dance Crew, to Receive East-West Players Award

JabbaWockeeZ, Winner of Randy Jackson’s 2008 America’s Best Dance Crew

East West Players (EWP) announced a new honoree to the 42nd Anniversary Visionary Awards Dinner & Silent Auction. San Diego based JabbaWockeeZ, recently the winners of the 2008 production of Randy Jackson’s America’s Best Dance Crew, will be recognized with the EWP Breakout Performance Award. With a diverse dance crew comprised of five Asian-Americans and one African-American, JabbaWockeeZ is known for taking its acrobatic & synchronized hip-hop dance moves to the next level of artistry. In addition they will be performing a dance number at the EWP Gala.

The JabbaWockeeZ dance team consist of, Kevin Brewer, Ben Chung “B-Tek,” Jeff Nguyen “Phi,” and Fil-Ams Chris Gatdula, Ryan Shawn Paguio and Phil Tayag. Created in 2003, the group originated in San Diego, CA. Their first performance on national television was on America’s Got Talent, which premiered in 2006. The name of the group originated from Lewis Carol’s book entitled “Through the Looking Glass.” In this children’s book, Jabberwocky is a dragon who roamed the woods. The crew members wear white masks so that people will focus on their dance moves and not on the individuals.

The JabbaWockeeZ dance crew members won MTV’s $100,000 grand prize last March 27, 2008. The “Jabbas” went through eight weeks of grueling competition with dozens of outstanding dance crews. They impressed judges JC Chasez of N’Sync, hip-hop choreographer Shane Sparks and darling rapper Lil’ Mama. Over 38 million people voted at the Dance Crew Finals between JabbaWockeeZ and Status Quo.

“We’re very excited to honor another Breakout Performance to such a young and talented group whose artistry in movement defies description,” says Producing Artistic Director, Tim Dang. “You really need to see them dance and we are glad that they are performing for us live. We are also happy to outreach beyond actors, directors, and writers, and honor another form of performing arts, dance. We’ve been closely watching this young dance troupe since they were on the show and were happy to see them win.”

Presenting the Breakout Performance award to JabbaWockeeZ is MTV President of Programming, Brian Graden. He is also the President of Programming for VH1, CMT and LOGO. Discovering the talent of animators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, he was one of the supporters in the creation of the animated series, South Park.

Honorees on April 28th, previously announced are dancer Carrie Ann Inaba and playwright Velina Hasu Houston. Additional presenters and talent to appear at the event include, Jolene Purdy, Amy Hill, Alex Chester Iwata, George Takei and Keo Woolford.

East West Players’ 42nd Anniversary Visionary Awards Dinner and Silent Auction will be held on Monday, April 28, 2008 at the Hilton Universal City, 555 Universal City Drive, Universal City, CA 91608. The no-host reception and silent auction will start at 6pm. The dinner and awards program will start at 7pm. Limited Tickets are available at $175 - $1,250. All proceeds benefit EWP Artistic & Education programs. You donation is tax deductible. For more information on East West Players’ 42nd Anniversary Visionary Awards Dinner and Silent Auction please visit or contact Development Manager Lisa Tang at (213) 625.7000 x17 or

Posted by Maria Maria,