Thursday, March 27, 2008

America's Best Dance Crew is JabbaWockeeZ: partly Fil-Am crew crowned best in hip-hop

JabbaWockeeZ is an all-male dance crew originating from San Diego, California. The dance group members are: Rynan 'Kid Rainen' Shawn Paguio,Phil Tayag, Chris Gatdula, Kevin Brewer, Ben 'B-Tek' Chung and Jeff 'Phi' Nguyen. Three of the members of the group are Filipino-Americans.

The crew was named America's Best Dance Crew on March 27, 2008. The group gained fame on MTV's show, 'America's Best Dance Crew' and has also competed on 'America's Got Talent.' The crew is known for wearing plain white full-face masks and synchronized dance moves. Their name is derived from the Lewis Carroll poem, Jabberwocky.

Both the JabbaWockeeZ and Kaba Modern performances garnered praise from the judges, with the crowd cheering to keep both crews, and eliminate Status Quo instead. JC Chasez said that seeing those two crews go against each other was the biggest competition yet. However, Kaba Modern was sent home, and JabbaWockeeZ moved onto the "Do or Die" encore battle with Status Quo. The music for each encore was mixed at the direction of the crews.

Their encore performance was entitled "The Red Pill"... from the Matrix. After the MTV casting show, a nine-crew field performed each week, and viewer votes determine the bottom two teams. They then competed head to head, and the judges decide which crew leaves the following week. JabbaWockeeZ as the winning team gets $100,000 and a touring opportunity

'America's Best Dance Crew' is an American television show featuring street dance crews from the United States. The show is produced by American Idol judge Randy Jackson, and airs on MTV in the United States and MuchMusic in Canada. In the first season, it was hosted by Mario Lopez and featured Layla Kayleigh as the backstage correspondent. It was judged by rapper Lil Mama, former *NSYNC singer JC Chasez, and hip-hop choreographer Shane Sparks. The series was originally developed for NBC and now is shown on MTV. JabbaWockeeZ were declared the winners of season 1 on March 27, 2008. Congratulations to JabbaWockeeZ for winning the 1st season!

Compiled by Jay Fermin